23rd June, 2021

Wingate Literary Prize 2022

The Wingate Foundation invite submissions for the 2022 Literary Prize worth £4,000.

2022 will be the 45th year of the prize which has been awarded to an illustrious list of writers. In a year where so much has changed we are delighted that the Wingate Prize will continue and our judges look forward to reading all the wonderful books that will be submitted.


  1. Submissions (5 copies of each book) must be made no later than 9th July 2021. If you can additionally submit an electronic version of the publication please let us know.
  2. Books must be published between 1st September 2020 and 31st August 2021.
  3. Submissions should be of literary merit, contain Jewish content and stimulate interest in questions of Jewish concern among a wider reading public. They should be aimed at the general reader.
  4. Submissions must be published in English, whether originally or in translation for this publication.
  5. Books must be published, distributed or easily available in the UK and Ireland.
  6. Poetry submissions and children's books cannot be considered for this prize.
  7. The prize will be awarded in February / March 2022.

Please download the form and send it with submissions (5 copies required) to:

Download PDF File

Wingate Literary Prize 2021
C/O Judi Waldman
33 Athenaeum Road
N20 9AL

For questions and queries, please contact Judi Waldman at allsortslondon@sky.com


Israeli writer Yaniv Iczkovits’ sweeping historical novel - The Slaughterman’s Daughter - has won the 2021 Wingate Literary Prize.

Described by critics as ‘highly relevant and resonant today’ despite its 19th Century setting, Iczkovits’ third novel, translated by Orr Scharf, was chosen from a short list which also includes: House of Glass by Hadley Freeman; On Division by Goldie Goldbloom; Nobody Will Tell You This But Me by Bess Kalb; Apeirogon by Colum McCann; When Time Stopped by Ariana Neumann, and We are the Weather by Jonathan Safran Foer.

Now in its 44th year, the Wingate Literary prize, worth £4,000 and run in association with JW3, is awarded to the best book, fiction or non-fiction, to translate the idea of Jewishness to the general reader.

This year’s judging panel was comprised of former Senior Rabbi to Reform Judaism Rabbi Laura Janner-Klausner; broadcaster, writer and film-maker Bidisha; Booker-shortlisted author and Economist magazine culture editor A.D. Miller; and award-winning biographer and historian Anne Sebba.

The 2021 winner was announced during an online event with JW3, featuring the BBC’s Emily Kasriel in conversation with the judges and the short-listed authors.

Follow the JQ-Wingate Literary Prize on Twitter @JQWingate and find us on Facebook: JQWingate Prize


The Wingate Prize was established in 1977 by the late Harold Hyam Wingate. It is now known as the JQ-Wingate Prize and is being run in association with JW3, the Jewish Community Centre. The winner receives £4,000.

The Harold Hyam Wingate Charitable Foundation is a private grant-giving institution, established over forty years ago.

JW3 is the first Jewish Community Centre and arts venue of its kind to exist in London. The brainchild of Dame Vivien Duffield and created by a core capital grant from the Clore Duffield Foundation, the centre opened on the Finchley Road, NW3 in October 2013.

Copyright © 2002-2021 The Harold Hyam Wingate Foundation. All rights reserved. Registered Charity No: 264114